Personal Injury Lawyer Answers 5 Frequently Asked Questions About Personal Injury
As a Philadelphia personal injury attorney, I field a wide range of questions from clients dealing with the difficult and painful aftermath of a car accident. Whether injured in a multi-car pile-up commuting into Philadelphia or making a quick trip to the neighborhood market, being involved in a car is stressful and often traumatic.
While every car accident has its own unique set of facts and circumstances, here are five frequently asked questions that arise regarding personal injury.
Does Pennsylvania Require Filing a Car Accident Report?
Pennsylvania requires the filing of a “Drivers Accident Report” within 5 days if the following factors are present:
- The police did not investigate the accident,
- Anyone was injured or killed, and
- There was severe property damage.
Do I Need to Speak to the Other Driver’s Car Insurance Company?
If you have been in a car accident and believe you have a possible legal claim, you should avoid speaking with the other driver’s insurance company until you have spoken with an attorney. Keep in mind, an insurance company’s goal is to pay out the smallest recovery possible and they know how to elicit information from you that supports their goal. If you have a personal injury claim, you can have your attorney contact the insurance company on your behalf.
How Much Compensation Can I Expect?
Every case is different, and no set amounts can be predicted until we examine the circumstances of your case. If we prove liability, you may be compensated for medical bills, lost wages and some other expenses. In addition, if you have full tort insurance, you may also pursue a claim for pain and suffering.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Pennsylvania?
Referred to as the “Statute of Limitations” the deadline or time limit in which to file a personal injury lawsuit in the state of Pennsylvania is two (2) years from the date of the injury or accident. (42 Pa. C.S.A. § 5524) While there are a few limited exceptions, if an injured party does not file a lawsuit within that 2-year period he or she will have no right to pursue legal action to recover damages caused by the accident.
How Long Will It Take to Settle My Case?
The length of time that it will take to settle a personal injury case depends on several factors, including how long you have to undergo medical treatment for your injuries. Your attorney will send a demand letter along with supporting documentation (medical records, employment documentation reflecting time lost from work, etc.) to the insurance company of the person responsible for injuring you. Response times can also delay the process. Typically, an insurance company takes some time to review all of the information and then negotiate a settlement amount with your attorney. To reach the best settlement possible, employing strong negotiating strategies and patience is important. A typical personal injury case is settled within 9 months, but sometimes they can take much longer.
If not settled in the demand stage, a lawsuit will be filed and a trial date is set. Insurance companies will make a low-ball offer, however, we work to help our clients receive the best settlement possible.
Call Alfred Abel Law Offices For Experienced Personal Injury Representation
The attorneys at Alfred Abel Law Offices are dedicated to providing our clients in Pennsylvania and the surrounding areas with practical and effective legal advice. With more than 30 years as a practicing personal injury attorney, Alfred Abel, Esq. has the necessary expertise and skills to meet the diverse needs of clients all types of personal injury cases – whether they are car accidents, slip and fall or other types of physical injuries caused by another party. Contact us at 215-517-8300 to schedule your consultation.